“Dialogues” at Wycliffe College

Well, I just got back from Syracuse where I presented a paper at the Eastern Regional AAR meeting – I’ll write more about it later, but I must say I did enjoy listening to some great papers on Gregory of Nyssa, Plotinus, Macrina and Julian of Norwich along with a main session (by Jeffrey Kripal) about comic books and the “paranormal” (including but not limited to alien abductions, Esalen and mutant superpowers). Syracuse University has a lovely campus, and it looks like they have a great religion department.

I will write more about our trip to upstate NY later on, but for now I’d like to put out a little plug for an art show I helped organize at Wycliffe College (on Hoskin Ave. in Toronto, just south of the ROM off Queen’s Park). The show is called “Dialogues,” and coincides with the annual Refresh! conference at the school. I’m a St. Michael’s student, not a Wycliffe one, but I have enjoyed being able to work with the people at Wycliffe as well as Imago to make this happen.

The show is up now and will hopefully stay up for at least the next 2 weeks, and the opening (with refreshments) is on Wednesday, May 11 from 5:30-6:45. It features some great work from a range of talented artists including Sung Ja Kim, Kyung Min Lee, Sharon Tiessen, Song Yi Song, Chris Cuthill, Jungu Yoon and James Ruddle. James, whom I know from my time at Forest Brook in Pickering, ON, is a prolific artist who has shown work at the Art Gallery of Hamilton and a range of other venues. Check out his website as well as the large-scale triptych he did using the unconventional artistic implement of a blow-torch for the Christmas season out at Forest Brook (click here and here).

Leave a Reply

