Art, theology, banjos and procrastination

On this sunny Friday in mid-March, it’s time to take stock of what I have to get done before the school year ends (a lot!) as well as a bunch of upcoming events, gallery shows and concerts (half of which I’m sure I’ll never be able to get to!).

 

 

One upcoming event is the annual CIVA (Christians in the Visual Arts) conference in Los Angeles, which has as a theme this year “Matter and Spirit: Art and Belief in a Digital Age.” Regent College afficionados W. David O. Taylor and Brian Moss are some of the featured speakers. The conference looks quite good… lots of good art, good thoughts and conversations to be mulled over, if that is you can make the trek down to Biola.

More locally, I’d like to check out the Luis Jacob show at MOCCA, “Pictures at an Exhibition.” That title brings me right back to sitting in the tuba section of the Woburn Wind Ensemble, playing the Mussorgsky symphony of the same name (“The Great Gate of Kiev” will always be in my mind linked with the climactic, emotional drama of the end of high school). I don’t think the show has much to do with the symphony (or my high school experience), but the colours look incredible and the symmetrical, abstract forms are intriguing.

I’m a day late to announce the annual LIFT auction which benefits independent filmmakers in Toronto, which is too bad because there were some great things up for grabs. Where else can you get past members of Broken Social Scene, or Buck 65 (aka CBC Radio host Rich Terfry) to score your short film?

More promptly, my friend Mark Laver’s fantastic eclectic roots band The Earthtones has launched a new website – check out their music, read their bio and then buy their CD. I’m partial to their song “compostela” which Mark wrote for the soundtrack to my video project of the same name. It’s all about the medieval pilgrimage to Santiago de Compostela… I’ll write about a possible upcoming screening of it once the details are ironed out.

And I still haven’t made it to the Tim Burton show at the Bell Lightbox, and time is running out! We will have to get there before it shuffles off in mid-April.

Leave a Reply

